Databases: All

Shock & Vibration Digest provides wide-ranging content, including full-text records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration. Topics include noise, vibration technologies, seismology, experimental mechanics, and engineering. The index contains more than 100,000 records which are selected from the most important sources within the discipline, including Journal of Sound and Vibration and Journal of Vibration & Control.

Short Story Index is an essential resource for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, or for those researching a body of work of a literary figure. It provides detailed indexing for hundreds of thousands of short stories. This database is searchable by author, title, subject, keyword, date, literary technique and source, or by any combination of terms. Subject access including theme, locale, narrative technique, or device can narrow a search even further.

4 simultaneous users.

SimplyMap is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.  Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM Data Packages.   A quick reference guide is available here and the SimplyMap Variable List is available here.

4 simultaneous users.

Provides online audio files for materials from the Smithsonian Folkways catalog and other archival collections representing regions of the world in various genres including folk, blues, jazz, country, children's and spoken word.

Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online allows students, scholars, and online researchers to experience the past through thousands of private writings and personal narratives. The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events. The database currently includes 99,789 documents in 2,236 books and 432 websites

The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) indexes citations appearing in articles and reviews in leading international social science journals. Source articles and reviews are searchable by author, journal title, and year. Lists of cited references are provided for all indexed source articles and reviews; abstracts are also provided for approximately 60% of the source articles since 1992. This database is probably the most useful for advanced researchers compiling bibliographies and looking for where works have been cited.

8 simultaneous users.

Social Work Abstracts, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present. This database provides exceptional coverage of more than 450 journals in all areas of the profession, including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems. Additional topics included pertain to the social sciences, gerontology, welfare, public health, criminology, and education as well as all areas of human services

This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 "priority" coverage journals as well as 2,840 "selective" coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.

The Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed titles with some full text as far back as 1965

South and Southeast Asian Literature is a searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas. Focusing on works composed during the late-colonial and post-colonial eras, the collection will also feature author interviews and manuscript materials that will shed additional light on the rich literary heritage and emerging traditions of this region.
SPORTDiscus is the most comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. With full bibliographic coverage, this database includes well over 1,200,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. The content also consists of international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre.
Sports Business Research Network includes full-text articles from 14 sports-business related publications, as well as over 2,500 tables covering participation, attendance, consumer expenditures, and market shares for 34 sports and fitness activities. Another feature is directory information for amateur and professional sporting organizations, venues, trade associations, etc.

This database is a comprehensive directory of of current sports business reference material. It provides current information about people, organizations, and events in the sports industry, including professional, college, military, Olympic, disabled, and high school sports organizations, as well as information about media, sponsors, manufacturers, retailers, and facilities.

Protocols published from 2010 forward are available. Compiling protocols from Humana’s successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals, SpringerProtocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. Written by renowned experts in the field, each protocol is organized in an easily reproducible recipe style, and offering helpful tricks of the trade in an invaluable “notes” section, SpringerProtocols is an invaluable resource for the modern research laboratory.

Recommended browser: IE 8, 9 or 10; Local Market Audience Analyst only runs on Microsoft Windows running IE 5,7,8, or 9. This database includes advertising rate and contact information for the following types of publications : trade journals, consumer magazines, newspapers, out-of-home advertising, online advertising, and international trade journals, consumer magazines and newspapers worldwide.

The Stalin Digital Archive (SDA) contains primary and secondary source material related to Joseph Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs. A majority of these documents are scanned page images and corresponding bibliographic records in Russian created by the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI). The archive also contains full transcriptions of all of the volumes in Yale University Press's acclaimed Annals of Communism (AOC) series.

2014 Access Issue: After clicking the above link, you will need to click on the "Statistical Abstracts US" link that appears at the bottom of the left-hand navigation panel.

Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country. As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people. The online version of the Statistical Abstract includes line-item access to tables and table-specific capabilities for narrowing results by source, data date, subject, and type of data breakdown. The Statistical Abstract online is updated monthly.

Student Research Center (grades 6-12) is a search interface designed for students in grades 6 through 12. SRC provides students in secondary schools with the most appropriate research tools to easily obtain the information that they need from their EBSCO databases.

Students can easily pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search. They can also search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and even limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading levels.

The Supreme Court Yearbook has provided valuable in-depth coverage and analysis of every decision from the nation's highest court since the 1989-1990 term. Nineteen years of coverage are now accessible in a powerful, fully searchable online edition that lets users explore expert and timely Supreme Court coverage swiftly and comprehensively.
A library of 50- to 100-page "Lectures"; self-contained electronic books that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor to the field. Includes content from collections 1 and 2 (publication dates 2005-early 2007) only.

Requires Flash version 8 or higher. To obtain your free upgrade visit the Flash Player download page.

Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Browsable by productions, documentaries, people, companies, genres, theatres, and dates. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions. A work in progress, this release contains 90 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Medea, Awake and Sing, Long Day's Journey Into Night, and Playboy of the Western World.  Notable actors include Gene Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Matthau, Meryl Streep, Anthony Hopkins, Helen Mirren and more. 

This full text database to the London times provides access to European and world (through the eyes of the colonizers) cultures and events. Keyword searching is available in both the full text of the articles as well as the citations and abstracts. Searching by type of article or for articles with images is also available. The index to the paper after 1985 is available in the King Index area at the end of the reference section. Older indexes are available in King Circulation. Microfilm of the newspaper is available by request from the Instructional Materials Center.
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of approximately 185 periodicals focusing on classics, archaeology, Near Eastern studies, and religion. Links are given to full text or abstracts of approximately 6% of the cited articles
Intended for the K-12 market, this is a largely full-text database of articles about current events and popular topics from newspapers, periodicals, opinion polls, book reviews, and government publications. Some citations indicate the reading level of the text.
A collection of toxicology and environmental health databases from the National Library of Medicine that includes the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), a database of potentially hazardous chemicals, TOXLINE (containing references to the world's toxicology literature), and ChemIDplus (a chemical dictionary and structure database)

Trip is a clinical search engine that searches high-quality research evidence to support practice and/or care. In addition to research evidence, this search engine also searches other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets educational courses, and news.

Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family allows students and researchers to immerse themselves in the values and behaviors of Americans of the past. The collection provides a window into American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. The collection contains fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.

This resource contains 1,530 plays by 223 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.

Full text of treaties and international agreements registered or filed with the UN since 1946. The collection currently contains over 50,000 treaties. The database also includes other treaty-related data including Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General (status of more than 500 major treaties)
Full-text electronic versions of major Russian newspapers and magazines on the same day they are published. Includes archives of back issues of for some of the newspapers and journals. Dates of coverage vary by title.
Contents of all leading Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities (so-called "thick journals"), such as journals from the Russian Academy of Sciences, popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications. Content of print editions is reproduced in full and with original pagination.

The Value Line Investment Survey's main section, "Ratings & Reports," presents full-page, individual stock reports (encapsulating the company's past performance, current status, and outlook) and industry reviews. The "Summary & Index" provides a key to locating the latest quarterly and supplementary reports and cites the most recent data on each of the stocks followed. Finally, "Selection & Opinion," a feature section, gives Value Line's views on the economy and the stock market and on stocks of special interest. It also provides model portfolios for investors with various objectives and a number of economic and stock-market statistics. Historical data to 1997 are also available online.

Please note that after connecting to this resource, you will be prompted with the following: "*To continue and log in, please click here." No username or password is required.

Vente et Gestion provides full-text coverage for French language business journals. Most articles are in French but some are in English. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others.

This database provides current information on the venture capital industry, including direct access to over 2,300 domestic and international venture capital and private equity firms, with detailed contact information and extensive data on investment and funds. It features up-to-date, comprehensive data on each firm including address, phone and fax numbers, e-mail and web site addresses for both the primary and branch locations. Also available are details about the firm's mission statement, industry group preferences, geographic preferences, average and minimum investments, investment criteria, portfolio companies, and managing partners.

The Vertical File is an index to Special Collection's collection of rare materials ranging from original letters, photographs, articles, poems, documents and other ephemera. Some of which may not have date of publication, names of authors or names of publishers.

Topically organized, Vital Statistics on American Politics 2009- 2010 is a rich and authoritative resource of data offering more than 230 tables and charts covering the full spectrum of American politics dating back to 1788. Introductory material helps readers understand and interpret statistical material, and the annotated reference guide directs users to other valuable sources on political statistics. This fully updated volume is an unrivaled reference for students, researches, and other interested citizens.

Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for 350 trade and industry related periodicals with 600 additional titles indexed.

Designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, this full-text resource offers comprehensive coverage of the most relevant Associates program level content. This database covers many topics including alcohol and drug abuse counseling, audiology, biotechnology, computer and data processing, CAD, cosmetology, electrical technology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement and criminal justice, paralegal studies, robotics, travel and tourism, veterinary assisting, and more.

Full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal through the Factiva database. The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record, offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. To look for specific articles or search on a topic, click on "Search" at the top of the screen.

The CQ Press Washington Information Directory Online Edition brings together CQ Press's wealth of contact and descriptive information on more than 10,000 federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, public interest groups, nongovernmental organizations, and international organizations in a single, easy-to-use, and fully integrated database. Searchable and browsable, the Washington Information Directory Online Edition provides verified and updated mailing addresses, phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web site addresses, contact names, and descriptions for thousands of organizations—along with a letter template tool, a customizable address book, and much more.

Full text image and indexing of the Washington Post from its beginning in 1877 until 1995. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. It includes display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.

To test President John F. Kennedy’s commitment to civil rights, the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) proposed a Journey of Reconciliation. The “Freedom Ride” had an interracial group boarding buses destined for the South. At rest stops, whites would go into blacks-only areas and vice versa. A civil rights group's mission - and the FBI's coverage of it - provide a perspective into American politics and society. Includes surveillance reports, chronologies, witness statements and more. These materials provide unique (and in some cases recently declassified) insight into the Freedom Rides, the Kennedy administration and the segregated South.

The Web of Knowledge integrates access to several high-quality research databases.
Web of Science databases include: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Additional Web of Knowledge databases include: Derwent Innovations Index, BIOSIS Previews, and Journal Citation Reports.

Current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Miami subscribes to three of the Thomson database products, Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). To access them click on the Web of Science link. The unique feature of Web of Science is the cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited.

Wiley Online Library hosts a broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. The platform allows seamless integrated searching of Wiley e-journals and e-books. Materials marked with an open lock icon are available to Miami users.

William Butler Yeats Collection is a complete electronic version of the scholarly edition of Yeats's work, bringing together 22 printed volumes and including critical and fictional prose, poetry, plays, and autobiographical works.

This database includes documents from the President's Commission on the Status of Women, Institute for Women's Policy Research, papers of women active in the women's movements as well as selected speeches diaries and other publications.

Full-text collection of writings in English, or in English translation, by women before 1850, with an emphasis on early modern works. We give greatest priority to texts that are not currently available in print and that are most needed by scholars. The aim behind these choices is to give an inclusive cross-section of the written culture. Allowing the inclusion of dictated narratives, for instance, makes it possible to include texts by illiterate women (for instance, slave narratives) which would be excluded if we insisted upon a strict construction of authorship. Similarly, historical reports of women's words (for instance, in the context of a witchcraft trial) give a view of women's discourse which would otherwise be inaccessible. Texts in translation have circulated within the culture of English women's writing and represent an important component of that culture. We treat the text as a document more than as a work of literature: hence our approach emphasizes transcription of the full document rather In addition to English texts written by women, the WWP textbase may include texts co-authored by men; texts of doubtful authorship, where the WWP feels there is good reason to believe the author was female; texts translated into English by women (the original author may be male, although these texts would have a somewhat lower priority); texts written by women in other languages and translated into English by men (again, with a slightly lower priority); historical accounts of trials or other events which claim to report women's words more or less directly; narratives dictated by women to male transcribers (even where it seems likely that the transcription is not verbatim); texts written under a female pseudonym which have circulated as women's writing (whether or not the author is actually female; again, with a somewhat lower priority).

Miami University Libraries | 151 South Campus Avenue | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.4141 | Miami University | myMiami | Staff Area