Databases: All

The Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) abstracts scholarly books, chapters, articles, conference papers and more recently electronic resources in the social sciences and humanities of interest to Latin Americanists. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the HLAS contains materials in English, Spanish and other major European languages.
HAPI indexes authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Harpweek contains the full text of Harpers Weekly, an important magazine that reflects 19th century American culture. This index includes every word of the text, all advertisements, as well as four separate subject indexes (subject, illustrations, literature and publishing, and advertising). Harpweek can also be browsed by date.

The Health Advocacy Database at Miami University is a collection of electronic materials made by professionals who advocate for human health and well being. Our Public Service Announcements seek to improve the personal, social, and ecological determinants of health and life quality through communication and advocacy.

The Health Literacy Database at Miami University is a resource that demonstrates a variety of cognitive motor skills and health behaviors across the lifespan and includes a collection of culturally responsive messages for children, youth, and adults advance health literacy.

Health Source - Consumer Edition indexes magazine articles on many health topics including medicine, food science and nutrition, child care, sports medicine, and general health. Health Source -Consumer Edition features searchable full text for over 130 journals including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. Click here for a complete title list.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Click here for a complete title list.

Full-text of the entire historical runs of more than 400 law journals with more being added regularly. Many are current to within the last couple of years. Other historical law sets available are the Federal Register (1936-1981), U.S. Reports (Supreme Court opinions), and United States Treaties sets

Historic and Archival Images (world accessible) will contain various collections of images contributed by OhioLINK institutions. This collection includes 300 photographs of the Wright family and of the Wrights'flying exhibitions in Europe and the United States.

Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents Series now contains 35 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

Historical Abstracts (HA) indexes journal articles, dissertations, book reviews, and media reviews on world history (excluding the United States and Canada-see America: History and Life). HA covers history from 1450 C.E. to the present. This index also includes major European-language journals. Search HA by keyword and limit the search by the time period covered by the article.
Collected from governmental and non-governmental resources, this collection of data (also available in print) provides statistics on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, trade and more.The online version allows for customization of data into tables.
Collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. Includes more than 50,000 non-classified documents including reports from the Congressional Research Service and General Accounting Office, presidential directives and executive orders, legislation and research reports. Available to muohio.edu domain only through the Federal Depository Library Program.
Hoover's Online

Hoover's replaced by OneSource as of June 2014; use OneSource to find comparable company and business information.

This index includes more than 100,000 bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resources management, employee assistance, organizational behavior and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Oxford campus users only.

An index to articles in scholarly humanities and social science journals from 1907-1984, this provides very good author and subject indexing of the most important journals in these fields. Combines the indexing of International Index (1907-1965), the Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-74), Humanities Index (1974-84), and Social Sciences Index (1974-84).

This database provides abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and more.

Humanities International Complete is an index to articles (many full-text, online) in scholarly journals and literary magazines. Provides very good coverage of little magazines and literary reviews and, for 2000- , for scholarly journals in the humanities (history, literature, philosophy, and religion). Incorporates coverage formerly provided by the American Humanities Index (published by Whitston, 1975-2005).

Humanities Full Text provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, and periodical coverage dates back to 1910. The content encompasses all fields of the humanities, including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and more.

Ibisworld is a source for in-depth full-text industrial market research reports. Over 700 reports are available in areas including mining, construction, wholesale and retail distribution, manufacturing, agriculture, transportation, education, financial services, arts, entertainment, accommodations and food service, etc. Search by keyword, NAICS or SIC codes.

Online access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data at the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Many ICPSR datasets are provided with online analysis tools or with SAS, SPSS and Stata setup files for advanced statistical analysis.
IEEE Xplore is a premier database for information in computing engineering, electrical engineering, and electronics. Full text access is available for over 130 journals and 600 conference proceedings, including all IEEE standards. Coverage for all titles is available from 1988, with selected titles from 1913.
Searches and provides access to hundreds of music journals covering a broad scope of research from performance, theory and composition to music education, jazz and ethnomusicology.

This database contains 65,000 pages drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers, most of them illustrated—3,720 issues published from 1860 to 1865. Originally printed in 16 different cities, many of the publications are now rare and hard to find, with an item sometimes extant only in a single archive. Carefully sought out and compiled from 17 different museum, library, and private collections, including those of the American Antiquarian Society and the Chicago Historical Society, these resources are now available to modern scholars in electronic form for the first time here.

Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, the home front, politics, and general society allow students and researchers to experience and bear witness to the events, both monumental and mundane, of the war that tested and defined the core meaning of America. The database currently holds over 10,400 images. Over 8,400 of these images come from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

Images.MD, the online encyclopedia of medical images, compiles more than 55,000 images from more than 90 collections ranging from allergy to urology, each accompanied by detailed and informative text contributed by more than 2,000 medical experts. See http://www.images.md/users/resources.asp for more help.

Import Genius is a database of information gathered from shipping manifests and customs records about goods imported to the US and selected Latin American countries.  It includes details about products shipped, vessels, and country of origin, with US data dating back to 2006. You must have a Miami University e-mail address (@miamioh.edu) to use this database. First time users will be asked to sign in with this e-mail address.  Additional information about Import Genius is available here.

Indexes published, unpublished, and recorded oral histories and personal narratives. Full text is provided when possible, otherwise links to transcripts, videos, bibliographic records, and finding aids are provided. Aside from a keyword index, access is also by date, place, historical event, subject, and repository.

Produced by the Islamic Bibliograhy Unit at Cambridge University Library, the Index Islamicus Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also Muslim areas of Asia and Africa and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Included in the index are journals, conference proceedings, and monographs.

Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.

1 simultaneous user; Oxford campus users only.

Index to individual pieces of music printed in scholarly editions; searchable by composer, title, keywords, and series name/number

Ingenta provides online access to professional and scholarly research. For publishers, Ingenta offers a range of online hosting and distribution solutions, and for librarians, customizable research retrieval and collection management services. Researchers are able to search and access a broad range of scholarly and professional research, in electronic, fax or Ariel format.
Lists books and articles about about theater and the performing arts. The resources covered by IBTD include articles in scholarly journals, books, chapters in books, and articles in literary and theater magazines, published around the world and in several languages. Emphasizes theater-as-performance in contrast to the emphasis on literary criticism in the "MLA International Bibliography" and other literature and humanities indexes. IBTD does not list reviews in newspapers, magazines, or popular media.

The International Directory of Little Magazines & Small Presses lists almost 4,000 book and magazine publishers of literary, avant garde, cutting-edge contemporary, left wing, right wing and fiction to non-fiction essays, reviews, artwork, music, satire, criticism, commentary, letters, parts of novels, longpoems, concrete art, collages, plays, news items and more. Contents include: full editorial information on both book and magazine publishers, 4,000 markets for writers to sell their work, and sources of unique subject material for readers and researchers. All entries are indexed alphabetically, regionally and by subject.

This massive and important encyclopedia "is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale." It covers the disciplines of anthropology, archeology, economics, education, environmental/ecological sciences, evolutionary sciences, genetics, gender studies, geography, history, law, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, sociology, urban studies, and more, as well as methodology and biographies of important figures.
The IFS database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS country pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherland Antilles: major Fund account series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS world tables. Time-series data is available back to 1945 for some countries.

International historical statistics (1750-2010) is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Updated to 2010, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years, serving as an essential reference source. The above link allows you to browse chapter-level PDFs. Click here to search within the e-book.

International Index to Film Periodicals" is a bibliographical index offering in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day; it is produced by the International Federation of Film Archives.

3 simultaneous users.

The International Medieval Bibliography is the leading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500). The IMB now comprises 300,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records. The discipline areas to which the IMB is relevant include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies.

International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA),produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science. This database contains over 262,700 records from over 1,000 journals published from 1951 to the present. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database each year.

International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center (ISCTRC) provides a comprehensive Open Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students. ISCTRC combines deep background from scholarly writings with expert commentary from a variety of organizations, agencies and publishers and timely reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social and technical spectrum. Content includes hundreds of full-text items from a variety of sources, including reports from Stratfor Analysis, Stratfor Forecasts, and Stratfor Geopolitical Diary, and over 10,500 pertinent images.

International Studies Online is published in association with the International Studies Association (ISA) and is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations. This resource brings together specially commissioned, peer reviewed essays, written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. International Studies Online is updated once per year and is enhanced by live links to archives, datasets, cases, pedagogical aids, and other relevant materials. The project is organized primarily around the different sections representing areas of specialization within the ISA. Each specialized section has organized a committee to identify key topics and identify authors.

IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 4960 texts including 856 aria texts.

Iskusstvo kino, established in 1931, is the leading journal of Russian, and formerly Soviet, cinema. Iskusstvo kino includes critical reviews of both domestic and foreign film, as well as scholarly articles on cinematic theory and history as well as the Russian culture and arts scene. It was first published under the title Proletarskoe kino(1931-1932), then Sovetskoe kino(1933-1935), and finally under the present name (since 1936). Publication of Iskusstvo kino was suspended in 1942-1943, and no issues were produced. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these challenging years.
Production of the Iskusstvo Kino Digital Archive is currently underway, and content will be continuously added to this resource during the pre-publication period.

Access to all of Miami Libraries' Brill subscriptions: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Encyclopaedia of Islam, Third Edition as it is published, Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān, Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures, and Index Islamicus. The first three are encyclopedias and the last a classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
ITER is an extensive database of journals and books pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Included are references to drama, texts and some primary sources.

A comprehensive collection of jazz recordings covering thousands of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres, from all over the world, from the beginnings of jazz to today. Includes recordings from over two-dozen record labels.

Jewish Studies Source offers researchers full-text coverage in a broad range of subject areas, providing a diverse look into the different disciplines of study. With over 400 full-text publications, this resource contains content covering many subject areas including archaeology, anthropology, area studies, ethnic studies, history, languages, philosophy, political science, religious studies, and women’s studies. This database also offers extensive full-text backfiles, with titles that include KASHRUS (back to 1990), Contemporary Jewry (formerly Jewish Sociology & Social Research; back to 1974), Western States Jewish History (formerly Western States Jewish Historical Quarterly; back to 1968), YIVO Annual of Jewish Social Science (back to 1946), and the entire Jewish Telegraphic Agency database (1922 to present).

An online version of a print source providing information on individual literary and cultural critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Online Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey in more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Miami University Libraries | 151 South Campus Avenue | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.4141 | Miami University | myMiami | Staff Area