Databases: All

This resource provides subject areas relevant to the disciplines of two-year college programs, including computer & data processing, photography, veterinary assisting and more.

Based on Gale's Encyclopedia of Associations, this database contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations.

ATLASerials Oxford campus users only; ATLA Religion Database available to all users.

A comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship.  It contains more than one million citations from 1,400+ international journal titles and 14,000 multi-author works and book reviews related to religious studies.  The database also includes full-text access to more than 238,000 articles, book reviews and essays from major religion and theology journals.

Oxford campus users only.

The Avery Index is considered the most comprehensive bibliographical research tool available worldwide for research in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history. It indexes journal articles from over 2500 periodicals worldwide, and covers many publications not indexed in any other source, including literature from professional associations, regional periodicals, and book and exhibition reviews.

BDSL is the on-line edition of the Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft, and provides citations to books and articles on German-language literature, linguistics, film, theater, and related subjects, from 1985 to the present. The Libraries holds the printed edition of BDSL, which covers from 1945-2005.
Full text of 21 major editions of the Bible written in English from the tenth century to the present. It includes the editions by John Wycliffe, William Tyndale, Miles Coverdale, and Noah Webster, as well as the Geneva, King James, Bishops', New English, and Good News Bibles. It is searchable by keyword and parallel text
The Bibliography of American Literature provides nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution (about 1712) to 1930. Information included is first printings, reprints, and critical articles. Searching can be done by keyword, keyword in title or author, or imprint. Compiled by Jacob Blanck and Michael Winship and originally published in 9 volumes by Yale University Press, 1955-1991.
The Bibliography of Asian Studies contains over 640,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. It includes citations to Western-language books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and chapters in edited volumes.
The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), published by the Association of Asian Studies, is a multilingual, nearly comprehensive index to all aspects of Asian Studies. BAS includes books, reference works, conference and symposia proceedings, and journals. Subjects are arranged is by country with cross-disciplinary issues are categorized under Asia, Indian Ocean, or East Asia. Older issues under the title of Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies are located in King Ref Z3001.C93. There is a five-year lag in the publication of this bibliography
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) indexes and abstracts scholarly writing on the history of European and American art from late antiquity (4th century AD) to the present. Sources include art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and over 4,300 periodicals.

Subject coverage includes fine arts, decorative and applied arts, industrial design and architecture, and popular and folk art. Photography and contemporary new media as well as performing arts (scenography and costume) are also covered.

BHA is particularly strong in European art from the medieval through modern periods, and in the indexing of foreign language materials.

A full-text database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines biographies from multiple Gale reference publications, such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Dictionary of American Biography, and Directory of American Scholars, with articles from more than 300 magazines, such as American History, The Christian Century, and U.S. News & World Report.

Biographical information on over half a million people from around the world, with articles from such biographical reference books as Current Biography and the World Author Series, as well as magazine citations from Biography Index Database after 1984. Some third party publications are included, such as a subset of the biographies from Oxford's American National Biography.

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus covers agricultural research, biology, environmental science, genetics, horticulture, physiology, veterinary medicine, wildlife management and more. This database includes full text for over 100 journals dating back to 1997, indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications dating back to 1983, and more than 200 podcasts from respected sources, including Boston's Museum of Science.

Biological Abstracts, also known as Biosis Previews, provides the most comprehensive coverage of worldwide literature in the life sciences. Biological Abstracts indexes approximately papers from 5,500 life science journals and 1,500 international meetings; review articles, books, and monographs are also monitored for inclusion. The index includes areas of biology such as agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, ecology, genetics, immunology, medicine, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, physiology, and zoology.
Comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds, including image, video, and audio galleries for many of the 716 described species.
Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, searchable information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Produced by Alexander Street Press.

African, African American, and Diaspora, 1850 to present. Contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

A full-text collection of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora. When complete, it will feature 8,000 stories and folk tales published in more than 15 countries from the mid-1900s to the present, including previously uncollected works and unpublished manuscripts by many authors, as well as complete runs of selected literary magazines that feature short stories.

Database contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Full texts of books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.

The most comprehensive index of book reviews, it includes more than 5 million review citations from thousands of publications, including refereed journals, general interest publications, and newspapers. It includes the entire backfile from the original print edition of Book Review Index, which dates back to 1965. Book Review Index Online is searchable by author of book reviewed, title of book reviewed, publication date, reviewer, title of review, review length, journal, refereed publications, and reading level.

The Borror Laboratory houses one of the largest collections of recorded animal sounds in the world. Founded by the late Dr. Donald Borror, Professor of Entomology and Zoology at The Ohio State University, the collection contains more than 30,000 recordings of over 1000 species of animals (chiefly birds)

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (BWLD) includes diaries and letters of British and Irish women in the UK and abroad. Aside from a keyword index, the database also has indexes for author characteristics, places, dates, and personal events.

BuildingGreen is an authoritative online resource for reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings. This resource can be used in the field by designers, architects, builders, facility managers, and other building industry professionals.

Business and Industry is a source for difficult-to-find business information, especially international marketing information, trade journal articles, and business statistics. It covers all industries and is international in scope. B&I draws content from over 1000 trade and industry publications, regional, national and international newspapers, business dailies and newsletters. Most articles are available as full-text while the rest include abstracts

Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from hundreds of key publications, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more. Includes over 600,000 corporate names with cross-references to specific industries and countries as well as SIC and NAICS industry and product codes for over 190,000 subject terms.

Business Source Complete indexes and abstracts 4,450 scholarly business journals, of which over 3,600 are available in full-text. This database covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing. It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for 10,000 of the world's largest companies through Datamonitor
Includes access to Cabell's directory of publishing opportunties: Business Directory as well as Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in educational curriculum & methods, Cabell’s directory of publishing opportunities in educational psychology, and Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in Educational Technology and Library Science.

Provides the full-text of Cambridge University Press Companions in literature, Classics, philosophy, religion, and culture. New Companions are added on publication. The Cambridge Companions consist of authoritative, up-to-date articles that discuss current issues in and aspects of the subject in question, such as Cambridge Companion to Henry James, Cambridge Companion to Adam Smith, Cambridge Companion to Feminist Theology.

Caribbean Search is a multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region. The collection contains hundreds of Caribbean focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and reference books.

Central & Eastern European Academic Source (CEEAS) is a multidisciplinary, multilingual database providing full-text coverage pertaining to all facets of central and eastern European countries. The collection contains hundreds of full-text publications covering many academic areas including business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, and sociology relating to this geographic region.

The Chicago Manual of Style contains state-of-the-art recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices in the digital age. The online manual provides convenient tools, such as sample correspondence, proofreaders’ marks, and a quick guide to citation. Additionally, the online format of this resource incorporates the popular Chicago Style Q&A, a resource that thousands have found as entertaining as it is informative. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. Your queries will return results—clearly distinguishable—from both the Manual and the Chicago Style Q&A.

Full text image and indexing of the Chicago Tribune from its beginning in 1849 until 1985. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. It includes display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.

Oxford campus users only.

Containing over 13,000 titles, this rich resource covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade. Professional literature for the children's librarian—both periodicals and books—is also covered.

Extensive information about children's books, video and audio recordings and other children-focused media. The CLCD presently contains more than 1,400,000 catalog records in MARC format that have children's headings assigned. In addition, the database contains more than 130,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults. Search for specific subjects, titles, authors, and see the associated reviews, prepare annotated lists/bibliographies, identify reading levels, and link to author/illustrator sites and curriculum tools.

Full text of over 6,000 journals in Chinese in the subject areas of business, humanities, social sciences, politics, science, medicine, and agriculture.

1 simultaneous user.

Online version of the monthly book review publication, Choice, this provides web access to the entire database of Choice reviews published since September 1988.

The source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
CINAHL (Comprehensive Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature). CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals and includes more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
Created and maintained by the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County staff, this database indexes selected articles on local topics from area newspapers, currently including the Cincinnati Enquirer, the Cincinnati Post, the Cincinnati Herald, the Business Courier, Cincinnati Magazine, and the Downtowner. Some topics can be traced back into the 19th century, although the years since 1990 are covered more fully. There is no full-text in the database.

Profiling the ten most populous cities in the United States during ten critical eras of political development, Cities in American Political History presents a unique singular focus on American cities, their government and politics, industry, commerce, labor, and race and ethnicity. Cities in American Political History analyzes the role that large cities from New York to Chicago to San Jose, have played in U.S. politics and policymaking. Each entry is structured for straightforward comparison across issues and eras. The city profiles include basic data and statistics for the era and are accompanied by maps of each era and the largest cities at that time.

CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together, they offer access to citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages from countries in Latin America and the Carrbbean.
Indexes local news stories, feature articles, and reviews primarily from the The Plain Dealer from 1983-1999. Since 2000 it only selectively indexes Cleveland Magazine (1983- ), Northern Ohio Live (Sept. 1990- ), and Ohio (Oct. 1990- ). Searching is by subject. No full-text is available.
Interactive source of new and classic research techniques in molecular and cellular biology. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and includes discussion forums made possible by online publication. Coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the classic Cold Spring Harbor lab manual style.
Includes guidance on negotiating and administering labor-management contracts, plus sample policies and the text of thousands of actual contract clauses organized by topic and classification number.
A handy, reliable one-volume encyclopedia containing nearly 51,000 entries. About one quarter of the articles have bibliographies.

The Columbia Gazetteer of the World provides users with access to authoritative information on more than 170,000 places and areas around the world. Coverage extends beyond the country level to states, cities, towns, provinces, counties, villages, hamlets, and neighborhoods. In addition to statistical data, the Gazetteer provides rich, in-depth information about the economic, historical, and cultural context of places. Gazetteer's entries cover: demography, physical geography and political boundaries; industry, trade, and agriculture; cultural, historical, and archaeological points of interest; transportation lines, longitude, latitude, and elevations; official government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings. Includes maps, almanacs, and historical population figures, starting with every available U.S. census from 1790 to 2000.

ComAbstracts abstracts articles published in 40 primary journals of the communication field. Coverage varies for each journal, but usually begins in the late 1980s. The citation or abstract may be searched by keyword or phrase. You can also browse a list of keywords. ComAnalytics provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication (journalism, mass communication, speech, communication studies, media studies, rhetoric, etc.). ComUpdate allows you to select classification terms and a date range in order to stay current on recently added materials. Full records will now display a "Check your library for full text access" link, which will direct you to full text access (if available) through the "Find It!" service.
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).

Compendex is a comprehensive, interdisciplinary engineering database.

Coverage includes the following areas:
Manufacturing Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Engineering Management
Chemical Engineering
Paper Engineering
Transportation
Bioengineering
Aerospace Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Environmental Engineering

Compendex covers the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports.

Miami University Libraries | 151 South Campus Avenue | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.4141 | Miami University | myMiami | Staff Area